Are you looking to delete your Facebook account permanently? Deleting Facebook account was a long and tiresome process before but it’s not anymore, as Facebook has simplified the procedure by giving the account deletion option in its settings menu. Most of the Facebook users are moving away from the giant of social media platforms due to their privacy concerns after it was questioned for The Cambridge Analytical case where data of millions of Facebook users was breached. There can be other reasons where you might not find Facebook to be useful or just find it as a waste of time. Well, there can be millions of reasons why you want to quit the largest social media platform and it doesn’t matter what the reason is when you have made up your mind for good.
Facebook allows you to either just deactivate or permanently delete your account, and yes both options have different outcomes. If you deactivate your account, it will keep all your information for you and your friends but will keep you away and uninformed from all the activities happening in the Facebook’s Universe, until you decide to reactivate it back when you think the time is right. On the contrary, permanently deleting your Facebook means all of the information that is kept in your account or is related to you will be gone forever with your account and you cannot reactivate it back. Similarly, all the apps that you used to log in with your Facebook account will also lose all the access and data. So if you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, this article will guide you on how to do it.
So let’s start with the guide…
Deleting Facebook Account
To delete your account for good, go on and log in to your Facebook and just follow the steps given below.
From your Facebook home page, click on the overflow arrow icon located on the top right corner of the page as shown above. This will drop down a contextual menu with some options. Simply click on the Settings option as highlighted. This will direct you to Facebook’s Settings page.
From Facebook settings page, under the navigation menu pane located at the left side of the page, select the “Your Facebook Information” option as highlighted above. This will open up the “Your Facebook information” setting pane. Now click on the “Delete your account and information” option as highlighted.
After clicking on the Delete your account and information option you will be directed to the permanently delete account dialog box as shown above. Facebook, all the way will try to stop you from permanently deleting your account by showing you different methods to not to delete Facebook, just to keep your data intact with them. In the dialog box you can see three different options:
- The first option allows you to deactivate your account instead of deleting it permanently. This allows you to keep your information visible and you will also be able to use Messenger whilst deactivated. Selecting this option will ask you to enter your Facebook password then take you to set of options in a dialog box to specify the reason of deactivating your account. You can always return back just by usual log-in.
- Facebook allows you to download your information before deleting your account. If you want to save the information on your Facebook which includes almost every interaction you made while using Facebook which mainly includes your messages, photos, posts etc. Clicking on the Download info button will direct you to the information archive page, from where you can customize the information which allows you to select exactly what type of information you want to download by selecting from given options and then create a downloadable file. If you have a lot of information stored then it might take a while to create and download.
- Facebook shows you how many pages you were admin for and allows you to edit the page admin settings by clicking on the Edit Admin Settings button just to add an existing user to keep your page live and active for Facebook users, otherwise the page will be deleted for you and for Facebook users if you choose to delete your account without giving admin permissions to any other active user.
If you don’t feel like performing any of the above-mentioned options and doesn’t bother any of your concern then just go on and click on the Delete Account button in the Permanently delete account dialog box as highlighted above.
After clicking on the Delete Account button, a confirmation box will pop up asking checking if this is really your account by acquiring your password. Just type in your password in the Password text field and then click on the Continue button as highlighted above.
After clicking on the Continue button, there will be another confirmation message in which Facebook will inform you that after clicking on the Delete Account button your account will be deactivated but you will still have 30 days to reactivate and cancel the account deletion process if you change your mind interim. Go on, take a deep breath and click on the Delete Account button.
That’s it! Hope this article has helped you know how to delete your Facebook account for good. If you have any confusion or experienced any difficulty following the instructions given above, please let us know in the comment section below.